To check the growing crime, a post of Naib Kotwal Jerayam was created in 1934 during Nizams period in Hyderabad city police. Crime's wing has undergone a lot of changes since then like emerging as Crime branch and later as Detective Department in 1981.

This wing primarily looks into the detection, successful investigation and prosecution of all sensational crimes and white collar offences in Hyderabad city. Detective Department has jurisdiction all over Hyderabad City

Detective Department is headed by an officer not below the rank of Dy. Commissioner of Police, works under the guidance of Addl. C.P. Crimes & SIT, Hyderabad City.

He is also assisted by one Addl. Dy. Commissioner of Police, 6 Asst. Commissioners of Police, 18 Inspectors of Police, 47 Sub-Inspectors of Police, 59 Head Constables, and 104 Constables.